Ten Countries in 28 Days

Who’d a thunk it.  Sometimes life saves the best for last, or at least, for later.

It’s been almost 40 years since I went to Europe while in the Army, and frankly, I didn’t really expect to ever get over there again.  But, you never know when lightning might strike, so when the opportunity presented itself for me to go on a 28 day cruise to Iceland and nine other European countries, I said, Yes! God willing, I am ready!

For me, this is a trip of a lifetime, and at this late stage in life, a somewhat daunting undertaking.  A non-stop flight from MSP to Heathrow, a train, or bus, or whatever, to Southampton, find a room somewhere or an all night cafe, board the ship the next day and settle in for the next 28 days.  It’s actually two, back to back 14 day cruises on the same ship, the Celebrity Eclipse out of Southampton, UK.  The countries are Iceland, Norway, Belgium, Germany, Finland, Russia, Estonia, Sweden, Denmark and England.

I will try to keep this updated as the ship stops here and there, and I expect there will be an occasional picture or two.  I am told that wi-fi on the ship is prohibitively expensive, so I will have to rely on cyber-cafes or coffee houses along the way.

Wish me luck and say a prayer. I’m gonna need it “over there”.  : )

It’s adventure time!

6 comments on “Ten Countries in 28 Days

  1. Wow! How…? Wha….? I’m speechless! Super excited for you mate, can’t wait to see the pics you are going to take. Have fun and keep safe.

    • Hay, one of my profs does enrichment lectures on cruise ships during the summer and she is allowed a guest. Usually she brings her daughter, but the kid has summer school this time, so she asked me if I wanted to come. So, the cruises are free for me, but I had to go in the hole for the round trip airfare to Southampton, a decent pair of dress pants, slacks, trousers, whatever they’re called, a large size luggage thingy with wheels, trip insurance, a bigger memory card, a hair cut… lol, there’s just no such thing as a free lunch, right?

Leave a Reply

